Iguazu Falls

The Iguazu falls (or Iguaçu Falls) are a spectacular site situated on the border of Argentina and Brazil. They are the largest waterfall system in the world, consisting of 275 falls with heights of upto 82m.

Many tourists and backpackers visit the falls as part of their South American trip and they are definitely not disappointed by one of the new wonders of the world.

Iguazu Falls – Brazilian Side

I stayed in the town of Foz do Iguaçu on the Brazilian side of the falls. I got a cheap flight with GOL from Rio de Janeiro which was very quick and easy. There is then a bus that you can get from the airport that goes to Foz do Iguaçu or one that goes the other way to the Iguazu falls. The airport is in the middle of the falls and the town. I got the bus to Foz do Iguaçu to drop my bags off at my hostel (Hostel Bambu which was great!). They told me where to get the local bus from to the entrance to the falls and how much the entry fee was.

The Brazilian side is very developed and easy to navigate. The first views of the falls are impressive. There is a walkway all the way along the river working your way along the falls uptowards Devil’s throat. You get spectacular views of the Argentinian side of the falls all the way along the walkway.

iguazu-falls2
View of the walkway into the falls

As you get to the end there is a brilliant walkway built out and over part of the falls. This was my favourite part of the Brazilian side as you really feel the power of the water! Lots of people had ponchos ready as there is spray everywhere from the falls so be warned! Make your way along the walkway to overlook the falls and get really close to the flowing water.I loved my day on the Brazilian side and I managed to do everything I wanted really in a couple of hours.

Iguazu falls – Argentinian side

After speaking to people and doing some research on the internet, many people were of the opinion that the Argentinian side was better than the Brazilian side. While I was here I was definitely going to make my own mind up!

I booked a organised tour for the Argentinian side as I thought this would be easier as transport would be provided across the border into Argentina and border control would be dealt with. In hindsight this turned out to be a great decision.

iguazu-falls

Leave a comment